2016 Awards Banquet


The Technical Symposium and Annual Awards Banquet held on Friday November 18th was a huge success by all accounts.

At the Technical Symposium we had the largest attendance ever:  over 70 people registered for the event, and at various times when we counted there were 65 or more persons in the room.  The speakers and panels were extremely interesting and well-received by the audience.  The presentation slides are posted under the Technical Symposium tab on this website.  Those who attended the event and needed continuing education units (CEUs) for their professional engineering licenses are able to do so at a nominal fee.

As in 2015, the Symposium was videoed thanks to the efforts of Ray Novak and the generosity of ICOM.  RCA members unable to attend the event in New York City were able to view the presentations live, thanks to ICOM’s live streaming the event. 276 people viewed the streaming video (a new record!), including an amateur radio club in Florida.   The videos will be placed in the RCA channel of Youtube in sometime in early January for the continued education of the wireless community.

The Technical Symposium audience voted for the best presenters based on a number of criteria.  This year’s winners were, for First Place the panel on 5G composed of Andy Seybold and Prof. Ted Rappaport Ph.D; and for Second Place Prof. Mischa Schwartz, Ph. D. who presented on Major Armstrong.

The Annual Awards Banquet was similarly well attended with 225 people.  Professor Joe Taylor, Ph.D., K1JT, of Princeton University, was the keynote speaker.  Dr. Taylor explained how amateur radio led him into a lifetime of science, and how his work with Russell Hulse led to the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1993 for their discovery of the first binary pulsar system. Their discovery confirmed Albert Einstein’s theories about the existence of gravitational waves 100 years after they were first published.

Learn more about Dr. Taylor and the work that earned him the Nobel Prize.

Start planning now to attend our 2017 Technical Symposium and Annual Awards Banquet in Pittsburgh!   Both will take place on Friday November 17, 2017, at the William Penn Hotel.

Unique for this event, we are planning an extensive tour of radio station KDKA, the first commercial radio station in the U.S.!  The tour will be open to RCA Members only, and will commence on Saturday November 18th.

2015 RCA BanquetThe Annual Banquet is our opportunity to honor our industry’s finest contributors.

The Radio Club of America Awards Banquet is the premier event in the wireless industry. A gathering of members and non-members alike, the Awards Banquet is entertaining, social and special in its continuing effort to honor the contributors to the wireless industry. Held annually in November, the Awards Banquet provides the Radio Club a vital opportunity to give out awards and proper recognition to the foremost participants in the wireless industry.

Past keynote speakers include Andy Rooney, Steve Forbes, Brian Williams and other notables, who realize the important and special nature of the Radio Club of America Awards Banquet.

As always, the Radio Club encourages networking among its members and an exchange of knowledge and experience. The Awards Banquet provides a fine opportunity while also giving attendees the opportunity to keep up with colleagues.

  • 2016 Banquet

Thank you to our 2016 Sponsors:

Titanium pdvWireless
Platinum New York University
Gold Anritsu
Gold Blue Wing, Inc.
Gold DX Engineering
Gold EF Johnson Technologies, Inc.
Gold Fractal Antenna Systems
Gold Harris
Gold ICOM America
Gold Primus Electronics
Gold Motorola
Silver Kirmuss & Associates
Silver V-Comm
Bronze AGL Media Group
Bronze Enterprise Wireless Alliance
Bronze Midian Electronics
Bronze MissionCritical Communications
Bronze PMC Associates
Bronze RFI Americas
Bronze Rohn
Bronze Telewave
Brass Antique Wireless Association
Brass Communication & Control
Brass The Sales Group